Friday, December 14, 2007

Tuesday, November 27, 2007

What's up doc?

Illustration for an article about people who are happy at work, so they never stay home saying they're ill.

Wednesday, November 21, 2007


Recently I was asked to make illustrations for the Japanese version of'the Dutch bestseller: Crusade in Jeans.
These are the results.

Thursday, November 08, 2007

Thursday, November 01, 2007

More sketchbook drawings

This is the first time I am experimenting with brush and ink. Most of my illustrations are painted, so I never got to explore the possibilities of brush and ink. I love the medium and it gives me a lot of new ideas. The ink illustrations above are some exercises to get to know the medium.

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Door en Door winter

These are some sketches and an illustration for an upcoming book called 'Door en Door winter'

Saturday, September 29, 2007

Sunday, September 23, 2007

Caricature exhibition

Dutch flyer for my caricature exhibition in Galerie 'T' in Middelburg.
The exhibition will also show some children's book illustrations.

Friday, September 21, 2007


Here are some pictures of my new book: Doe niet zo druk!
(ISBN 978 90 475 0289 0 - Van Goor )

Monday, September 03, 2007

Jim Carrey

I finally found the time to add a finishing touch to the Jim Carrey portrait.

Tuesday, August 28, 2007

Plein air painting in France

I went to France for a week of plein air painting with family and friends. Here are some of the results...

Thursday, July 26, 2007

John Singer Sargent

The greatest painter the world has ever seen. If there is anything you want to know about painting; check out John Singer Sargents work. He had all the answers.

I very often stare at his amazingly well placed brushstrokes, his unbelieveable understanding of color, and his virtuosity in seeing and translating form into brush ore pencilstrokes. Not even to mention his portraits.

A lot of his work can be seen
  • here

  • This illustration is 14 inch × 20 inch, gouache on heavy grain watercolor paper.

    Wednesday, July 04, 2007

    Getting in shape

    I want to push myself a little further, and understand more about shape, form and 3 dimensionality.

    Thursday, June 28, 2007

    technique study

    I am still deciding wether I'll use gouache or acrylics for the illustrations in my next book.
    Since the story has a lot of different moods and different types of weather I may go for acrylics, which makes the flow of the paint, and looseness a lot easier.
    Here's a quick sketch I made, trying to find an answer...

    Monday, June 18, 2007

    character designs

    Tis is a study for a little girl, who fantasises about being a prinsess...

    Thursday, June 14, 2007

    Childrens book

    I have been working on the illustrations for a childrens book. It will appear in September. I can't post the finished illustrations, but here are some of the sketches...